02 December 2017

Monthy List: December 2017


In the spur of the moment- me being bored out of my mind; I wanted to create a list of notable books/graphic novels/movies/tv shows/music I want to check out in the upcoming month. This time, it's December.

Books



Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills | December 5th
Immortal Reign by Morgan Rhodes | December 1st 

Emma Mills is a constant. You can always count on her to write contemporary versions of classics. 

I haven't read Crystal Storm (book 5) but I'm positive I'll get to it this month. This series has been a pleasant surprise. 

Graphic novels


White Sand Volume 2 by Brandon Sanderson | December 6th

I still need to read volume 1 but I will get to it. I haven't read it before mostly because I don't like to wait. 

Movies


Star Wars: The Last Jedi directed by Rian Johnson | December 15th
The Shape of Water directed by Guillermo del Toro | December 8th

Ya'll! I've been waiting for The Last Jedi for two years. I've been on the Star Wars tumblr tag ever since I've heard Adam Driver got the role. After The Force Awakens came out I got obsessed in record time and would read fan theories on the daily basis. 

The Shape of Water seems weird but I love weird. Metascore and early reviews have been positive which only makes me want to see it more. 


TV Shows


Runaways!!!! Even though the show premiered in late November I think I'll binge it in December. I've read the comics when they first came out so waiting a couple of more weeks till I get the chance to see it means nothing. And if you're a fan of Rainbow Rowell you'll be glad to hear she's writing the new chapters of this amazing story. The first 3 issues are already out so check them out. 

December releases are pretty underwhelming but I still have a new Star Wars episode. I'm just glad the wait is finally over. 




06 November 2017

Monthly List: November 2017


It's been a while since our last post, here on YA Fanatic. In the spur of the moment- me being bored out of my mind; I wanted to create a list of notable books/graphic novels/movies/tv shows/music I want to check out in the upcoming month. This time, it's November.

Books


Renegades by 



Renegades' cover is giving me Tron vibes! Can't wait! I love my adventurous sci-fi novels! 


It's been a long, long time since I've read the Mara Dyer trilogy. Now, it's Noah's time! I am loving the cover as well! It makes me wonder in what kind of mess have these two gotten themselves into this time. I see ember flying around and heavy smoke. Hmmm... I smell danger. 



Unearthed ebook is coming out in November and the hardcopies are out in January 2018. Why? I have no clue. Maybe Goodreads librarian made a mistake during editing. I have been more into sci-fi books since late 2016 so I'm excited for this Unearthed


Red Rising Saga: Sons of Ares by Pierce Brown
Locke & Key Volume 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill
Southern Cross Volume 1 by Becky Clooonan

I've been neglecting my graphic novel collection this year so I'm trying to fix things by reading them more in November and December.


Sons of Ares is a prequel to the Red Rising Saga which blew me away in 2016, so if you've missed this, grab your copies. I'm still waiting for the full volume. It makes the reading so much easier and it's cheaper.


Next we have Locke & Key which is a popular graphic novel from 2003. I didn't get the chance to read it before Halloween but I haven't forgotten about it. It got onto my radar after I read about the Hulu pilot option. Hope it works out for this series this time since it was suppose to happen in 2011.

Image Comics is my fave comic publishing house and their titles speak to me the most so there's always going to be one of their comic on my to read list. This time it's Southern Cross, a space mystery.  I did read the first two issues when they first came out but stopped for some reason. I don't know why because the artwork and coloring are amazing. I especially like the way eyes are drawn. They are so full of life. Beautiful! 

Music



Reputation by Taylor Swift | November 10th

Now, I'm not someone who sits around, waiting for an album to drop but I am waiting for this one. I've listened to all of Taylor's albums but the one that made me a true fan was 1989. I love that album so much. I think it has to be one of my all-time favorites. 


Science Fiction by Brand New

This is not a new album. It's been out since August but I recently discovered it and it's been on repeat since then. It's playing in my car, while I'm doing my chores and even when I'm cozy, in bed. It's sad to say goodbye to the band. 2018 will be their last active year. Brand New, thank you for 18 years of great music. 






08 June 2015

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga  
Publisher:  Balzer & Bray      
Publication date: February 10th 2015
My rating: 5 stars

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.
Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.
There's only one problem: she's not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel's convinced she's found her solution--Roman, a teenage boy who's haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other's broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. 

Behold! The diversity in young-adult fiction! 

My Heart and Other Black Holes is perfect with its depressed, lonely characters. Aysel, a girl who's father killed the town's next big thing, wants to die. Everyone stays away from her in school, she doesn't have any friends and her family doesn't think of her as their member. She finds an add on the website for suicidal people, where another teenager(Roman)  is looking for a suicide partner.  Together the form a pact by killing themselves. 

Aysel was such a likable main character. Dealing with the destruction of her father's actions, she distanced herself from everyone. She finds comfort in her room, doing her physics homework. She's fascinated about Einstein's theory of relativity and connects it with everything happening in her life. Things start to change once she meets Roman. 

Roman's still dealing with the death of his kid sister. He blames himself and doesn't think there's anything worth living for. He's an excellent basketball player with a scholarship on the way. Most of the time, he's trying not to find Aysel not amusing which I thought was really cute. 

Both, Aysel and Roman are a perfect pair. They connected and understood each other right from the start and I loved seeing their strange relationship develop. Roman brought Aysel's long forgotten, fun side and she made him see the beauty in life. I really enjoyed their interaction. Their dialog was fresh and entertaining. It felt real which was the most important thing. 

I have no objections about the writing or the pacing. Everything felt just right, without rushing. Only there was this small thing. I kind of wished we got to see Aysel's father towards the end. I was a little bit disappointed he didn't made an appearance. 

I'm glad the cover was changed. This one is so much better. 

If you're looking for a touching story about two lost souls, you've found it! Contemporary buffs should not miss My Heart and Other Black Holes. 


01 May 2015

Black Iris by Leah Raeder


Black IrisBlack Iris by Leah Raeder
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Release Date
: April 28th 2015


Black Iris
reminds me of every Noir film I've adored.

It's brutal, vengeful and beautiful. It's a battle zone, sanctuary and something close to home for many.
High on imagery and emotion, you're put into situations that are basically montages of obvious elements that point to an obvious conclusion, but the beauty of it all is that space of interpretation, where the book you're reading becomes the book you're loving.

The narrator is as unreliable as she states and not. She's mysterious and also, not. She's got this darkness in her which is incomprehensible until she opens up all her cards, methodically and that's good because it made the book highly engrossing and quite frankly, addictive.
It begs to be held and read.
The seduction is paramount both above and behind the covers. The seduction of destruction is something which only some writers get right, because if handled incorrectly, it might as well piss readers off. But Leah Raeder clearly knows what she's doing. I've always been a huge fan of her descriptive writing style, but adding the tang of queer romance and vulnerability of vengeance was in my eyes, a homerun.

Yes it deals with matters of sexuality and sexual identity, but it wasn't treated like it was something sensitive...it just was.
Plus, it was sexy as hell. (Remember, Noir.)

If you thought a forbidden romance between a teacher and his student was risky? Try dealing with this you all.