12 June 2014

17 First Kisses by Rachel Allen

17 First Kisses by Rachel Allen
Publisher: Harper Teen      
Publication date: June 17th 2013
My rating: 2 stars

No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment.
Until Claire meets Luke.
But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible.
With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder.
In her moving debut, Rachael Allen brilliantly captures the complexities of friendship, the struggles of self-discovery, and the difficulties of trying to find love in high school. Fans of Sarah Ockler, Susane Colasanti, and Stephanie Perkins will fall head over heels for this addictive, heartfelt, and often hilarious modern love story.

What a mess this book turned out to be. I was exhausted with the amount of drama these teenagers were going through daily. It was like I was mentally sprinting with them, trying to keep up with who's with who and who's mad at who. 

Someone said 17 First Kisses is what's like to be in high school. But let me tell you this- I would never want to be a part of that school. I want to stay as far away from it as possible because these kids made so many mistakes and their parents don't even care about what they're doing or were never in the book to begin with. How the hell do you kiss 16 different guys before your 18th birthday?! It doesn't make sense! But that's not even the worse thing! Apparently, some random ass statistic shows a girl has to kiss 79 guys before she finds her future husband. Which means she's bound to get herpes sooner or later and that is not a great look on anyone. Claire is defending her action with stating she is still a virgin and definitely not a ho-bag as some other girls called her. Since she lives in a small town I would say she probably kissed almost all her male peers. Jesus! During my time in high school I only liked about 4 guys and I only kissed the last one because I really liked him. I didn't want to mix my saliva with someone I barely knew. Maybe I'm just a judgmental prude. But I'm not. I just have standards. 

I'm not going to discuss the book thoroughly because that would take forever. I just want to say something because it bothered me so much I wanted to fling my Kindle across the room so many times. I'm well aware of the fact characters need to make mistakes till they learn their lesson but I'm not okay with this type of books-where you steal boyfriends from your best friend not only once, but twice; getting with your teacher and all sort of stupid things. I'm sure there are other ways an author could teach us important life lessons without reminding us we could be kissing 3 different guys in one night, getting wasted at a party where some creep tries to rape us. Some people don't get these things are wrong! They will think it's the coolest thing ever and they'll try to do the same. Doesn't anyone see how messed up this is?! Not everyone has the brains to stop ad think before acting with their new hormonal outbursts. 

I apologize to those who are still reading this review. It turned out to be a rant. 

No comments:

Post a Comment